Dante’s Pizza and Pasta

Dante's Pizza2

Visited the Dante’s newer location in Vaughan the other night and it’s a great find. They deliver, but their dining room is really the way to go.

Price: $9 – $15 per dish
Address: 8707 Dufferin Street
Phone: 905-881-1070
Hours:
Payment Methods:
Cash, Visa, Mastercard, Debit

Dante’s pizza is huge, hearty, and one of the best I’ve ever tasted!  Unlike the usual chain type pizza places, Dante’s pizza’s are dense and heavy because of all the toppings! The pastas are great too with a real homestyle cooking feel with giant sized portions that usually serves two to three easily which makes these platters ideal for sharing.  One of my favourites is their Veal Parmigiana which is a lightly breaded pan-fried veal cutlet baked in tomato sauce with mushrooms, onions, green peppers and mozzarella with your choice of oven-roasted potatoes or pasta. This place is a must try.

Dante's Pizza3

Cuisine:  Italian, Pizza, Pasta

LINK to Dante’s website


Discussion

Comments are disallowed for this post.

  1. I’ve tried their pizzas. They’re great! Just like you said, lots of toppings.

    Posted by Soong Geet | December 2, 2009, 12:09 am
  2. This place looks okay butI love Mamma’s pizza!

    Posted by Maria | December 2, 2009, 12:24 am
    • Mamma’s is okay. You should try the pizza from Dominions…I mean Metro. It’s a great deal for what you get!

      Posted by panda | December 2, 2009, 11:26 pm
    • I must say, Dante’s and Mama’s are in different leagues altogether. I find Dante’s pizza a little too heavy on the toppings as it leaves me guzzling water for at least a few days after I eat it. I still prefer Terroni’s for pizza.

      Posted by Catherine | April 24, 2010, 3:21 pm
  3. Metro IS a great deal, but sometimes way too much cheese. I love cheese, but not when there is more cheese than toppings and crust combined!

    Posted by Soong Geet | December 3, 2009, 9:02 am
  4. I went there last night and the Pizzas I have to say are HUGE!!! Deep dish and full of toppings! We ordered the large Meat Lovers and it was more than enough for 4 people. We brought have of it home. we also tried the Alfredo dish but it was very bland.

    Great find!

    Posted by panda | December 15, 2009, 10:15 pm
  5. We went to Dante’s Pizza at Vaughan for lunch yesterday. We ordered one Large Delux and custom the 2nd large pizza. The pizza were huge had ok amount of toppings. However, I find this place over-rated and over-priced. Our pizza was burnt and toppings were not fresh. We also ordered platter size Alfredo Fettuccine. The chicken tasted like grocery store frozen perserved chicken. Nothing special, the taste was blend. We complainted about the burn pizza. The server told us it was normal to be “burnt”. Are you kidding me? Then he said he would try to offer a dessert which he ended up charging us for it. When asked about it, he said he couldn’t do anything. They why offer dessert?????

    We spent $150 on bill for 6 people which is not bad if the pizza tasted good. Even Bostn pizza taste better than this!!!

    Posted by D | March 21, 2010, 4:44 pm
    • I’m sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience at Dante’s. But as someone who have long patronized Dante’s, I have to speak out on their defense. Dante’s is an old Thornhill institute and if you have ever visited their original location on Royal Orchard off Yonge, you will quickly understand that they are NOT an upscale restaurant. Their services are usually atrocious and the owners abrasive to say the least, but they have been on the pizza and Italian family style dining scene for as long as they have. That is simply that they serve good, honest home-style fare.

      A word of advise when you visit these type of serious pizzarias is not to order something called “deluxe” as those are really terms coined by North American pizza makers. Instead, try simpler combinations of toppings to minimize the confusing flavours in one pizza. Simpler is always better.

      As for Fettucine Alfredo, I don’t know if they would use frozen chicken pieces as they have list of items on their menu (Chicken Cacciatore, Chicken Parmigiana…etc) that require use of unfrozen chicken. I’ve had both the chicken dishes I mentioned, and they’ve always been cooked nicely, maintaining it juicy bites in their infamous tomato sauce.

      Offering to comp your dessert and charging you for it, now that is unacceptable. But to say that Boston pizza taste better than Dante’s, I’ll have to politely disagree. As taste is a very personal thing, I will leave it at that.

      Posted by Catherine | April 24, 2010, 3:31 pm
  6. Ate at Dantes on Dufferin tonight. Caesar salads were pretty good. Pizza was very good and the steak sandwiches were nothing special.

    The problem was the chicken milanese. It was prefab frozen chicken cutlets – I guarantee it! They were not even hot inside and they tasted like Janes frozen chicken or something. You could not separate the breading from the chicken because the whole thing was processed. They lied about this chicken. They say it is pan fried. I complained to the waitress and I told her that not only is it prefab but it wasnt even hot. She didnt care. Didnt ask to replace it, didnt ask to reheat it, all she did was tell me it is freshly breaded and went on to charge me for the uneaten plate. So I searched on google while in the restaurant because I knew for sure somebody would have reported this and sure enough I found the above posting. I showed the waitress but again, she couldn’t care less.

    Hopefully somebody who works/worked there will tell the truth here! Please let the truth be told!

    Stay away from that crappy chicken!

    Posted by Michael | July 14, 2010, 12:57 am
  7. Went to Dante’s with a large group last weekend – the long weekend. Have been there numerous times. Service was terrible – never been so bad. Stella draft was flat and was returned. Orders were taken by the server and were incorrect – ie. appetizer came late and an entree was sent back to the kitchen because it was not prepared sans mushrooms. Drink refills were not checked by the server.

    Double charged on the bill for coffees, teas and desserts. Had to call the manager to complain about the poor service and incorrect orders and billing.

    An overall bad experience and all that was offered were apologies for new inexperienced staff. Final bill was still incorrect – overcharged for a tea. Live close in the area and will not be back for a long time.

    If you go, check the bill closely and do not tip for poor service.

    Not worth the visit anymore if you have to travel far. Better choices are available.

    Posted by Da | September 7, 2010, 10:30 pm